Skip to content

Automated Invoicing Solutions

August 1, 2010

After weeks of agonising and finally getting my new website up and running, I’ve decided to produce an occasional blog about Simply Spreadsheets Ltd. Its aims are to :-

  • Make people more aware of the kinds of projects that I enjoy working on
  • Help explain what works well in Excel and what doesn’t work so well
  • Give some general tips on Excel – these may be short cuts or how to things better

Remember there is no perfect IT tool. Excel seems to be able to do many of the things that I like doing.

Project Focus – Invoicing

In this blog I’m going to talk about an area that I often get asked to automate –invoicing. There are many reasons why it makes sense to automate invoicing process including :-

  • It ensures that the invoices are always correct
  • They are consistent in their look and feel
  • It is a repetitive process – and hence one that ought to be automated
  • As invoices are being created faster, it means that cashflow is being improved

One of the most recent companies that I worked with was Back Office Support Solutions Ltd (BOSS) who provide admin and financial support to small businesses. They asked me to automate their monthly invoicing process. The solution had to :-

  • Allow for clients to be charged either on an hourly rate (depending on the services used) or a monthly retainer
  • Cater for a varying number of clients
  • Show the breakdown of charges by service type and also allow for expenses

You can read the full case study on the site http://www.simplyspreadsheets.co.uk/case-study.php/BOSS_-_Back_Office_Support_Solutions

However, Simply Spreadsheets delivered a solution that meant that staff continued to work in the same way and then at the end of the month the invoices would be created at a press of a button.

Excel Tips

I’m going to conclude each blog with some general Excel links:-
How to use VLOOKUP:-

http://www.videojug.com/webvideo/how-to-use-vlookup-in-excel

Want help with Pivot tables then look at :-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CuhQ9lSMmjg&feature=related

Thats all for now.

regards

Kaps

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2010 7:17 pm

    Hi Kaps

    I think your Blog’s a great idea, and I can see how useful it will be and I like the case study and tip idea. I’ve signed up too.

    If you get a moment have a look at mine, like you I’ve only just started Blogging.

    http:www.thefusioneffectblog.com

    Regards

    Richard

  2. August 26, 2010 7:35 pm

    Hi Kaps,

    I think this blog is great and is going to help so many people and businesses. I have always struggled with excel so it’s nice to know that you’re there take the ‘hell out of excel’.

    I’m really looking forward to reading your future blogs.

    All the best,

    Gaz

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Automated Invoicing Solutions « Kapil Kapur Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

